The summits of mountains embrace a large part of the Czech Republic. In the north of the country, the river Nisa has created a path among these mountains and the town of Hrádek nad Nisou lies at the place where the river valley widens. The river initially forms the border between the Czech Republic and Germany before later becoming the border between Germany and Poland. Hrádek nad Nisou has become, albeit only relatively recently, a town at the border of three states, a town at the heart of the Tri-Nation Region. The Tri-Nation Region is a region where you can come across the traditions and customs of three independent nations, but also discover much of what they have in common. It is but a short step to neighbouring Poland and Germany, no matter whether you travel by train, by car, on foot or by bike. The Tri-Nation Point, the place where the borders of the Czech Republic, Germany and Poland meet at the confluence of the Nisa River and the Oldřichov Stream, is an easily accessible and attractive area for tourists. The landscape in the Czech part of the Tri-Nation Region appeals to visitors who are interested in sports and are looking, for example, for relaxation near water or in forests. The Hrádek area lies in the foothills of the Lusatian and Zittau Mountains. The mountains and their environs are interwoven with a dense network of hiking tracks and cycle trails. They will take you to mysterious rock towers in the middle of forests, to far flung lookout towers, to castles and ruins and many other places associated with history and to reservoirs which offer the opportunity of swimming in the summer. You can experience adventure by rafting down the Nisa, especially in spring or after rain. If the weather permits, the forests in the environs of Hrádek can be a paradise for mushrooming. Grabštejn A castle and château. This castle which originally belonged to the Lords of Donín and stands on a high promontory was first mentioned as early as in the 13th century. It underwent a fundamental reconstruction to almost its current renaissance appearance under Jiří Mehl of Střelice in the 16th century. The current appearance of Saint Barbara’s with its valuable fittings and decorations also dates from that period. After the Thirty Years War, the battlements were demolished and the Trautsmanndorf family sold the château to the House of Galass, later Clam-Gallas, who owned it up to 1945. In the second half of the 20th century, the Army of the Czech Republic used the original castle. It was significantly devastated during that period. However, the building of the upper castle and the château have been able to be protected from damage and repaired from the 1990s onwards. The castle is open to the public from the cellars up to the tower. A number of interesting events are held at the castle throughout the year. Thanks the operatic benefit concerts given by Luďěk Vele (August), it has been possible to acquire funds which have been used to the benefit of the castle. The first weekend in September belongs to the Worldfest festival of ethnic music, while concerts, theatrical performances, craft displays and displays by fencing groups are part of the Grabštejn summer. The newer “lower” château with the park is not open to the public (except for on occasional days) and it is home to the Veterinary Base of the Czech Army. Kristýna Aktuální rekreační zařízení je pojmenovaný po jednom z mnoha tunelů, které byly použity k těžbě hnědého uhlí v Hrádku. Těžba změnil způsob, aby povrchové těžbě v roce 1952. Když to bylo dokonce úplně zastaven v roce 1972, byl proud jezero v rekreační oblasti vytvořil zaplavení lomu. Kristyna-See Das heutige Erholungsgebiet wurde nach der Grube Kristýna, einer von zahlreichen Lignitgruben in der Umgebung von Hrádek benannt. Der untertägige Abbau wurde 1952 aufgegeben und erfolge nun in einem Tagebau. Als dieser 1972 stillgelegt wurde, entstand durch die Flutung des Tagebaulochs ein See und an diesem später das Erholungsgebiet.